Kenta Maeda of the Minnesota Twins finished second in the American League Cy Young voting to Cleveland's Shane Bieber, which was no surprise.

Bieber was a unanimous winner (all 30 first-place votes and 210 points). He went 8-1 with a 1.63 ERA and 122 strikeouts, leading the major leagues in all three categories.

Maeda got 18 second-place votes, four third-place votes, two fourth-place votes, and four fifth-place votes.

In his first season with the Twins, Maeda was 6-1 with a 2.70 ERA and 80 strikeouts.  He had a no-hitter go into the ninth inning against the Brewers on Aug. 19 that was broken up.

Past AL Cy Young award winners for the Twins are Jim Perry, Frank Viola and Johan Santana who won it twice.